B.Sc. Zoology

    B.Sc. Zoology

    Full Accreditation
    Department: Biological Sciences
    • Duration: 4 years


    The B.Sc. Zoology is one of the disciplines in the world that deal with scientific study of animals, which includes man and their related sciences.

    The need for man to know the relationships and interactions among animals and between animals and their environments cannot be over emphasized. This knowledge is essential for effective management, improvement and utilization of the animal resources.

    The areas of Zoology include animal anatomy, physiology, histology, taxonomy genetics etc., which cut across all groups of animals (vertebrates and invertebrates) in their different habitats.

    The Zoology programme of the University is designed to fulfil these academic responsibilities by training students in the discipline to become professionals and contribute its rightful share in relieving the shortages of food production, environmental conservation, veterinary and paramedical personnel, competent teachers and research workers in Zoology.

    In addition to producing graduates of Zoology, the programme will service students from other science-based Schools of the University.  


    1. To produce graduates that can compete with other graduates of Zoology anywhere in the world in knowledge and skill for employments.
    2. To encourage the students to carry out quality researches and developmental activities that will put the University on a high pedestal internationally.
    3. To champion the course of animal production, preservation and conservation and provide services that will have impacts on the University’s immediate communities.
    4. To develop professionalism in the graduates of the programme to become job creators, rather than being job seekers.
    5. To organize training workshops on animal production, management, preservation, conservation and utilization. 


    (a) UTME Admission:

    Candidates seeking admission through Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) Examinations must offer the following subjects:  English Language and three other subjects out of Chemistry, Biology, Agricultural Science and Physics or any other relevant science subject.

    In addition, candidates must have five credit passes at SSCE/NECO/GCE in English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Physics in not more than two sittings.

    (b) Direct Entry Admission:

    Candidates may be admitted into the 200 Level of the programme by direct entry if they have at least two A-Level passes in Biology/Zoology, Chemistry or any other relevant subject in addition to the five credit passes at SSCE/NECO/GCE in the subjects specified for UTME candidates.


    The normal duration of the programme is four academic sessions for students admitted to 100 level through UTME and three academic sessions for those admitted into 200 level by Direct Entry. Students may take longer than the normal duration to complete the requirements for graduation but will not be allowed to exceed twelve (12) semesters for candidates admitted through UTME and ten (10) semesters for candidates admitted by Direct Entry.


    To be eligible for a B.Sc. degree in Animal Biology and Environmental Sciences of Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa, a candidate must

    1. pass all prescribed core courses, School and University required courses as well as electives;
    2. complete successfully a minimum of 159 Units for candidates admitted through UTME and 115 Units for candidates admitted through Direct Entry, and obtain a CGPA of not less than 1.0, and
    3. complete successfully all prescribed industrial attachments, projects and seminars.

    Subscribe to our Newsletter

    About OAUSTECH

    Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology (OAUSTECH), Okitipupa was established by the Ondo State government in 2008. It was initially named as Ondo State University of Science and Technology (OSUSTECH).

    It is a technology-based institution, which aims at providing the needed manpower training for industrial and technological development of Ondo State and Nigeria as a whole.

    Get in Touch

    For further information and enquiries, please contact;

    • Admissions Office, 
      Oluwarotimi Akeredolu Senate building, 
      Olusegun Agagu University of Science & Technology,
      Km. 6, Okitipupa-Igbokoda Road,
      P.M.B. 353, Okitipupa,
      Ondo State, Nigeria
    •  +234(0)7098809476
    Copyright © 2022 Olusegun Agagu University of Science & Technology. All Rights Reserved. Powered by iKrisp Techies