Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources

    agric food natural resources


    Dean SAFNR

    Dr. J.A. Ogunjobi
    Acting Dean, SAFNR

    Philosophy of the School

    The philosophy of the School is to widen the educational base for a more practical and functional training in the various areas of Agriculture. The curricula are designed to include the generation of skilled and production-oriented human resources to combat food shortages, provide raw materials for agro-based industries, and generate foreign exchange earnings from agricultural export.

    The School of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources is one of the three Schools of the Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa. The School is organized into six different Departments namely:

    1. Agricultural Economics and Extension
    2. Animal Production and Health
    3. Crops, Soil and Pest management
    4. Fisheries and Aquaculture Technology 
    5. Food Science and Technology
    6. Forestry, Wildlife and Environmental Management

    The School was established in 2017 and commenced academic activities in the 2017/2018 academic session. Each Department in the School operates a five-year undergraduate training programme leading to the award of the Bachelor’s degree (B.Agric. Tech.). All Departments have common 100 and 200 level courses.

    As from 300 level, students separate to their individual Departments, where they are required to take core courses in their respective Departments as well as elective courses in other Departments. The intention is that graduates of the Faculty will be equipped with sufficient theoretical and practical knowledge needed to combat the myriads of technological challenges confronting the different areas of Agriculture.

    Students in each departments undergo six months off-campus practical trainings by attachment to relevant agricultural organisations during the fourth year.  The programmes are designed in such a way that the students are trained to be technologically self-reliant, entrepreneurial and efficient managers of natural resources, including food, feed and fibre. This is to encourage them to set up themselves in agricultural production enterprises as a means of employment thereby reducing graduate unemployment and increasing agricultural productivity.

    You are welcome into the School; with the hope that you will excel in studies and make us proud with your best efforts and results.

    Date-1Wednesday, 15 June 2022 17:40
    File Size-1 1.58 MB
    Download-1 2,422

    Subscribe to our Newsletter

    About OAUSTECH

    Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology (OAUSTECH), Okitipupa was established by the Ondo State government in 2008. It was initially named as Ondo State University of Science and Technology (OSUSTECH).

    It is a technology-based institution, which aims at providing the needed manpower training for industrial and technological development of Ondo State and Nigeria as a whole.

    Get in Touch

    For further information and enquiries, please contact;

    • Admissions Office, 
      Oluwarotimi Akeredolu Senate building, 
      Olusegun Agagu University of Science & Technology,
      Km. 6, Okitipupa-Igbokoda Road,
      P.M.B. 353, Okitipupa,
      Ondo State, Nigeria
    •  +234(0)7098809476
    Copyright © 2022 Olusegun Agagu University of Science & Technology. All Rights Reserved. Powered by iKrisp Techies