Print this page

The Postgraduate School

prof ae adegbite Professor A.E. Adegbite
Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies

Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology (OAUSTECH), Okitipupa is a state-owned university with a mission to provide sound scientific, technological and professional training, identify technological needs and problems, solve them within the context of community and national needs and sustainable development.

The University was established in the year 2008 by the Ondo State Government as Ondo State University of Science and Technology (OSUSTECH), Okitipupa, but had the name changed on 31st December 2019 to Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology (OAUSTECH) by the Ondo State Government.

Undergraduate academic activities commenced in the University in the year 2011 with ten (10) academic programmes in four (4) Departments in the Faculty of Science (now School of Science). The academic programmes are: Botany, Zoology, Microbiology and Fisheries and Aquaculture (in the Department of Biological Sciences) Biochemistry and Industrial Chemistry (in the Department of Chemical Sciences) Computer Science and Mathematics (in the Department of Mathematical Sciences) and Physics and Geophysics (in the Department of Physical Sciences). All the undergraduate programmes are fully accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Each of the Departments has graduated at least five sets of students, many of whom are eager to return to the University for their postgraduate studies. Apart from the graduates of this University, several candidates from other Universities and some of the University Assistant Lecturers have indicated their interest to pursue their postgraduate studies in OAUSTECH.

Apart from the fact that the University is fully matured for postgraduate studies, the eagerness of several candidates to pursue their postgraduate studies in OAUSTECH, coupled with the need to facilitate meaningful research activities in the University, make the establishment of the Postgraduate School inevitable. To accomplish this task, the University Management with the support of the Governing Council, Senate and other critical stakeholders set machineries in motion for the establishment of OAUSTECH, School of Postgraduate School.

Sequel to the above, the National Universities Commission (NUC) after a successful Resource Verification Exercise, in 2021 approved the commencement of postgraduate studies in the School of Science of the University. Therefore, effective from 2021/2022 academic session, OAUSTECH, School of Postgraduate Studies will be admitting suitably qualified candidates into the following postgraduate programmes: Botany, Fisheries and Aquaculture, Microbiology, Zoology,(in the Department of Biological Sciences), Biochemistry Chemistry (in the Department of Chemical Sciences), Mathematics and Computer Science (in the Department of Mathematical Sciences), and Applied Geophysics (in the Department of Physical Sciences) leading to the award of Master degree (M.Sc.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)

After this initial take-off, the School of Postgraduate Studies will commence Postgraduate Diploma programmes in the earlier mentioned programmes leading to the award of Postgraduate Diploma (PGD).

I use this opportunity to appreciate the University Management, Governing Council, the Senate and the Visitor to the University for granting approval and providing the enabling environment for the smooth take off and running of the Postgraduate School and to wish our prospective postgraduate students a fruitful and successful academic career in the University.